Pro Tools features

UNDO DELETED TRACKS

All users claim for it for long time.

All another softwares have it.

All people does not understand why PT doesn't have it yet.

Tags

Submitted by

Stage: Active

Feedback Score

641 votes
Idea#707

Idea Details

Vote Activity (latest 20 votes)

  1. Upvoted
  2. Upvoted
  3. Upvoted
  4. Upvoted
  5. Upvoted
  6. Upvoted
  7. Upvoted
  8. Upvoted
  9. Upvoted
  10. Upvoted
  11. Upvoted
  12. Upvoted
  13. Upvoted
  14. Upvoted
  15. Upvoted
  16. Upvoted
  17. Upvoted
  18. Upvoted
  19. Upvoted
  20. Upvoted
(latest 20 votes)

Similar Ideas [ 4 ]

Events

  1. The Idea titled Better Undo Features was merged with this Idea
  2. The Idea titled Deleting Files from Region List sends files to the mac Trash can was merged with this Idea

Comments

  1. Comment
    cab.ideas
    ( Pinned Moderator )

    Including text from merged idea:

    When removing audio files from the region list with the clear command - could they go to the mac trash can and not get obliterated please

  2. Comment
    mike.aiton

    When removing audio files from the region list with the clear command - could they go to the mac trash can and not get obliterated please

    Comments on this comment

    1. Comment
      joe_04_04

      Deleting audio regions sends files to trash (or recycle bin) instead of completely erasing them. Many times, instead hitting remove, I accidentally hit delete region...this is not "undoable."

  3. Comment
    nick_dudar

    My question is how are you clumsy enough to move your mouse to track > delete track accidentally. There is a reason they didn't provide a hot key, was so you didn't accidentally press it.

  4. Comment
    Lydian

    Also, if you delete a track the 'content', be it MIDI data or audio i still in your region list, you can always re-create the track....i agree with the above, it's very hard to accidentally delete a track!

  5. Comment
    Community Member

    It's EXTREMELY easy to accidentaly delete a track, since it's often you have several tracks selected without even knowing. You maybe have the first and the 24th track selected, and if you delete the 24th track it also deletes the first track and you don't even know.

    andrew.solomon1: And if you have several regions on a very long track? Most of the time it's not just to re-create the track, and in some cases we're talking hours and hours of work to get everything right again.

    Extremely frustrating, annoying and unnecessary! To fix this should be a priority.

  6. Comment
    nick_dudar

    So i guess you've learned your lesson then eh? Look at what your deleting, before you go ahead and delete it. Seems like a no brainer to me, which is why its never happened to me.

  7. Comment
    Community Member

    Yeah, some of you guys never makes mistakes. The rest of us are humans, though.

    On topic: I have definitely learned a lesson. Nevertheless, it's obvious that a professional sequenser should have this function.

    In Photoshop, for example, you can undo every little action, and that's how it should be. I can't see what the problem is. It's also definitely possible to code.

  8. Comment
    elvenminstrel

    Save often, use File/Revert when you accidentally do something undoable. It would be one thing if we had unlimited Undo, but this would unnecessarily take up one of our precious 32 Undo levels.

  9. Comment
    yoerik

    I agree on the proposal, however what you can do if you accidentally remove a track, is re-importing it from an autosave session.

  10. Comment
    simonchase

    Good idea but this is not a "bug" just a feature request

  11. Comment
    max

    New to the community; this was about to be my first request.

  12. Comment
    Community Member

    Another element of Sonar that is in my opinion far better than PT is its UNDO features. In Sonar you can more or less UNDO any action whatsoever... So for example if you...

    Accidentally delete a track or plugin.... UNDO it .. (This particular undo option should definitely be in PT, as if you mistakenly drop a PLUGIN on top of another one in PT.. it deletes that plugin!! Where as Sonar employs a sort of useful "shuffle mode" to rearranging plugins.. which saves a lot of time and frustrartion..)

    Create a track and decide you don't want it.. UNDO it

    Instantiate a plugin and change your mind.. UNDO it

    etc etc etc

    Comments on this comment

    1. Comment
      Community Member

      Most of those things have bee requested before. Please do a search for "undo" and you will see them all.

      Please do a search before posting.

  13. Comment
    Xavier Collet

    Idem. First request. Hours of editing lost due to multiple track selection without knowing.

Add your comment